Fiction vs. Reality

A few months back, I came up with a new resolution: I decided to start reading books that would compliment my general culture and lay off the books that are just for entertainment. Looking back now, I reckon that decision was silly and out of place. Despite what people may say: “come on! Grow out of it!” or “you’re still reading teenage books!”, well the truth is, these books give me hope and make me feel happy so I do not care that I’m a 24 year old still reading authors such as John Green!
1. Fiction is instructive too
When you read fiction just for entertainment you’re also working your imagination. I strongly believe that when you start reading – fiction or non-fiction – you automatically start to imagine the setting, the places, the characters, how they look like etc… you basically try to put faces to everyone, in a way you’re a director in your head and the book is vividly running like a film that you get to manipulate. Okay fiction may not bring a lot of general culture to ones who read it. It may be written in a non-sophisticated manner; however it really has an impact on one’s imagination and perception of things.
I’ve never told this to anyone before, and you may not believe me but this IS a true story: when I first read “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone”, I was 12. It was a while before the first movie was made and back then I became obsessed with the Harry Potter book series. The first book is special as it describes specifically Hogwarts, the ride to Hogwarts, the magical elements in Hogwarts, all the classes and activities. When the movie came out, I was speechless: Hogwarts was depicted exactly how I had imagined it. I really could not believe all the similarities between how I imagined the story in my head and how I saw it on film.

Hogwarts Castle

2. The characters are inspiring and flawless

In most fiction novels, the main characters are fearless. They’re who everyone else looks up to, the problem solvers you may say. Just think of Harry, the boy who lived, he’s constantly defeating the bad guys against all odds. Or Katniss Everdeen who’s always up for the next challenge. The list is endless actually.

cn_image.size.s-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-part-2

katniss-catching-fire

divergent-trailer-shailene-woodley

3. The characters don’t need to have a stable job

Isn’t that the best! The main characters, (logical since they’re all teens) do not go through the horrific routine we have to deal with. Every day brings a new adventure, and they’re always ready to take it on. What I like to do is read some of these stories at work whenever I have a minute to breathe. They carry me away from the regularity of my job and make me lose track of space and time, and it’s almost like I’m with the characters and not actually in my office.

4. Usually in fiction, the world the characters live in is way cooler than the one we live in

Just look at the Hunger Games’ characters and how the people in the Capitol dress! Wouldn’t you like to go through a wall and get to Platform 9¾! Or ride a flying car, or have a distinctive power!!!!!

Quidditch_Pitch

rs_560x310-130809124725-1024.CatchingFire5.mh.089013

111411_hungergames_moments

5. Finally, it actually is way better than the reality we live in! So to hell with all you haters! I’m gonna read whatever I feel like reading!

 

Leave a comment